A peerage? I’d rather give it back and cut my tax bill – independant.co.uk

Andy McSmith writes…

But for a handful, there is something more important than the perks and prestige: their bank balances. In the past few days, four peers have formally renounced their membership of the House of Lords, because if they had stayed they would have to pay UK tax on all their income.

The Independent: A peerage? I’d rather give it back and cut my tax bill

About @somerandomhash

busy doing nothing, working all day through, trying to find lots of things not to do...
This entry was posted in Advocacy Journalism, Independent.co.uk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A peerage? I’d rather give it back and cut my tax bill – independant.co.uk

  1. Lord Laidlaw of Rothiemay – gave £3.48m to the Conservatives in 2007.
    Alistair McAlpine – served as treasurer of the Conservative Party.
    Baroness Dunn – awarded a peerage by John Major in 1990.
    Raj Kumar Bagri – a Tory peer.

Comments are closed.